Hi all, I coach a local under 10s team and we had some disagreement around a rule during a match recently and the club have asked me to teach the kids what I feel is incorrect so am after some opinions. The rule in question is : The goalkeeper is allowed to handle the ball anywhere in the penalty area. To restart play after a save or gathering the ball with their hands, the ball must be thrown or rolled from the hands or played from the ground with their feet, within 6 seconds. The goalkeeper is not allowed to kick or drop kick the ball directly from their hands. Opponents must be at least 5 metres outside the penalty area and cannot move inside the penalty area until the ball is in play. The ball is in play once it moves out of the penalty area or when the goalkeeper places the ball on the ground. Now I read this as the goalkeeper has 6 seconds to make a choice, roll, throw or place on the ground and kick, attacking team must retreat the required distance. However, the last sentence states the ball is in play once the ball is placed on the ground. Rules also state : “goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hands.” The laws state a goalkeeper is in possession of the ball when : the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms except if the ball rebounds accidentally from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save To me this suggests you are entitled as an attacking team to challenge for the ball because the keeper is no longer in possession. The club are telling me I should be instructing the team to not challenge for the ball even if the goalkeeper has placed the ball on the ground. I know it’s only under 10s but I believe in teaching kids the right thing for their development. Opinions people?